Maynard James Keenan’s Puscifer released a new album called Existential Reckoning (Alchemy Recordings/Puscifer Entertainment/BMG — get it here) today, and they’re celebrating that release “with a new chapter in the search for Pusciverse bad boy Billy D. via the video for ‘Theorem,’” according to a press release.

The clip will debut today at 2 pm PDT/5 pm EDT (i.e., the time this post is published) as part of a video countdown to the premiere of today’s livestream event, “Existential Reckoning: Live At Arcosanti.” You can watch it here.

The location of the event was specifically chosen for being visually distinct: “the location, Arcosanti,” the press release tells us, “was described by Architectural Digest as a ‘utopian metropolis in the Arizona desert’ that ‘looks like the sublime set of a big-budget sci-fi movie.’”

Says Keenan about the livestream event:

“If you’re not familiar with Arcosanti, I highly recommend that you look it up. It’s one of a long list of examples of architects, artists, actors, musicians, writers, and poets. People who are not necessarily from Arizona but came here and found that creative tick that burrows under your skin here, something that sets you in a motion to respond to this, what I consider to be equal parts inspirational and hostile environment. It’s not easy to survive here. There’s already been a dust devil that’s whipped through here, rattlesnakes on set, crazy red ants outside of my sleeping quarters which tried to consume my dog. We feel like we’re on the edge of the world. Imagine if you were an extra-terrestrial traveler and you landed in the Southwest and wanted to assume an identity here and blend in, this would probably be a good spot to do that.”

Danny Wimmer, Founder of Danny Wimmer Presents, the largest independent festival producer in the United States and co-producers of “Existential Reckoning: Live at Arcosanti,” adds:

“We could do a live stream from anywhere – a sound stage, an empty theater. But this location, at Arcosanti, in the heart of the unforgiving yet beautiful Arizona desert, adds another dimension to Puscifer’s music.

“Maynard is an artist in everything he does, from his music to his wine to his farm-to-table restaurant. The common thread running through all of it is that he doesn’t take any shortcuts – and he’s chosen an environment that doesn’t allow for shortcuts, “’Existential Reckoning: Live at Arcosanti” promises not just to be an experience, but to be an insight into that desert world that fuels and inspires Maynard and Puscifer. The only thing better would be to enjoy the show with a glass of Maynard’s Caduceus wine in hand.”

Tickets, with and without exclusive merch options, are available now at this link. The live stream debuts today (October 30) at 3:00 pm PDT/6:00 pm EDT/10:00 pm GMT/11:00 pm CEST and remains on-demand for the following 72 hours. 

Leave a Reply